UNEXPECTED SENSIE: A Guro21 Project


PREFACE: This blog post is a project for my GURO 21 class. Our task was to make a blog and make a post about teachers/teacher. And since I have already my own blog, i really got excited to start this post. This is my fave Assignment so far. :))

.

.

I never had a favorite teacher. I never had a teacher that could give my face a frown because of anger or a smile because of delight. I do believe that we all remember our teachers throughout our lives for at least one reason. But, I don’t know, I see no difference from my former teachers. No one is more special than the others. Don’t get me wrong, but all my teachers were good to me. I never was a bad student you know. I admit I was kind of talkative back then but I was charming and a good learner to be hated. I have nothing against them. I would never be in the field of teaching if not for them. Maybe I didn’t had any certain affinity towards my teachers, or maybe, my teachers’ exceptional personality traits didn’t impress me a lot. Well, not until the year 2013. .

I was in the verge of my career. I had been in the same cycle as a teacher where everything I do seemed loss of meaning. Redundant. Tiresome. Boring. I was looking for something that would interest me and inspire me to do better. Unknowingly, I was back with my old hobby which was drawing. When was the last time I held pencil and paper for drawing? I couldn’t remember. Vacant hours at school had been my escape; I spent time doing sketches. I was hesitant at first to share my works on Facebook. But, photo freak as I was, I decided to upload it. That was the time when one of my colleagues noticed my post. Apparently, he saw something in what I did and introduced me to basic drawing mediums and techniques.

PhotoGrid_1469618542212

My colleague, Sir Ariel Perote’s first comment on my artwork post is still vivid in my head. Even if it’s not flawless, he still managed to praise my work. I’ve known him for three years since I started teaching. Hence, I was aware of his exceptional skills. He, without a doubt, is a master on the art field. I often called him my “Idol”, and in like manner he called me, “Katorse”. So much from his expertise, he didn’t teach me a subject but instead shared a wonderful secret; his knowledge and experience. He knew what my best was, and he never asked for more than that — or accepted less.

ar3

From a “like” on my post and a “comment” to it, followed a meaningful conversation of knowledge and learning. My art post continued as I learned from him the tips on drawing. And his comments, suggestions, advises or should I say, our informal yet significant conversation online continued as well. His teaching didn’t end from our exchange of messages on Facebook. Sir Ariel expanded to include other means of teaching, such as video shared short clip and video tutorial from Youtube.

PhotoGrid_1469618275416

After being discouraged from my past at my parents and my world for never noticing or promoting the artist in me, I never would imagine that someone would bring out the best in me. Sir Ariel had taught me in an unexpected time and in unexpected place. Who would have tought that I’d achieved one of my dreams in my twenties? Who would have tought that a colleague could be my favorite mentor? And who would have tought I would learn from ‘facebooking’?

Indeed, learning does not only happen inside the school and during one’s schooling years. It can take place anywhere, anytime, and with whomever.

Sir Ariel, “my idol” in a poster making contest

Sir Ariel may not be my elementary teacher, my high school teacher, my professor in college, and adviser in graduate school; but he became a mentor who I never expected to be. Even with the little span of time, he made a difference in my life. Though, I’ve already utter the words “thank you”, but for the lifetime I’ll be bound with gratitude for the invaluable contribution he has made. Now, every time I meet him in school, I couldn’t help to give Sir Ariel a genuine smile. I still call him “idol” and he still calls me “katorse”.

I can say that I passed the beginner stage of being an artist. However, I need to learn more and keep to hone my skill through constant practice. Improvement is a slow and gradual process. One can’t expect to be a master of drawing after working for a few days.

2016-02-28-12-43-18-934

Some of my artworks in an art exhibit in SM Lanang, Davao City

Currently, I’m a member of a local artist group in Davao where we create collective works of art and organize group shows. Likewise, aside teaching art subject in my class, I coach young cartoonists in our school. And just this week, (for the first time) I am invited to be a speaker to aspiring student-artists in University of Mindanao, Tagum. I was hesitant to say “yes”, but I remember– I want to be one of those teachers that inspire others.

I wanted to give back the same opportunities to my students that Sir Ariel gave to me. Now that I am teaching, I am using my imagination and ingenuity to bring my subject to life in ways students will always remember.

2 thoughts on “UNEXPECTED SENSIE: A Guro21 Project

  1. Pingback: How I Became a Hobbyist Artist | Thisknee Land

Leave a comment