Best Finale of 2017


IMG20171228114342-01-01e.jpeg

2017 has been a year of bliss, adventures,  and a lot more. Over-all a lucky year.

It’s 2018 but my recent blog posts were overdue. Well, most of my blog posts are. Hahaha. Actually, last month I have already decided to write about this. But due to multiple hobbies and new interests that I can’t juggle, I end up doing nothing.

Now, since I had 3-day break from work, I have plenty of time to write something that would remind me in years to come how my 2017 was spent. I’d like to look back and reminisce before I move forward.

So, i have had the best finale in 2017: my first big trip abroad!!

I didn’t imagine i could travel outside the country. I had no plans, whatsoever. I mean, I dream of travelling different countries, who else does not, right? -but I didn’t consider  2017 as the year to travel overseas. On the side note, i didn’t have my passport yet earlier that year.

If I look back, it happened suddenly. My colleague asked me if I’m interested to get a passport. I said yes. And next thing happened, we booked a flight. As what I’ve said, I didn’t plan it. It’s like handed to me freely. It’s like i slept, i woke up,  it’s December, and i flew to Thailand!

IMG20171228102526-01

My first time abroad was daunting and scary – albeit exciting – leap into the unknown. At first, I was anxious hearing about airport immigration process. It’s been a highly controversial issue these days. It’s a tourist’s biggest nightmare: not being allowed by Immigration Officials to board the plane. But luckily, with the complete requirements and papers, I & my colleagues breeze through the airport without a problem.

IMG20171228093819

waiting to be called by a Thai Immigration officer

By the way, who I was with? I was with my workmates- Vic & Jessa, who both initially planned about going to Thailand. Our whole itinerary was made possible by Vic who is a ‘travel genius’ kekeke 🙂

So we stayed at Bangkok, the capital of Thailand. Bangkok is the commercial, economic, and political center of the country. It is a wild, highly developed third-world metropolis but is still very much in touch with its past.

FB_IMG_15147386201281.jpg

The famous Skywalk: The skywalk is an elevated footpath or walkway which has been built under the skytrain in the areas where many of the shopping malls are close together. 

Commuting in Bangkok was quite easy. Vehicular traffic is nothing compared to what are forced to endure in Manila. How’s the transportation? Well, we took the BTS skytrain since our hotel was near the BTS station.

IMG20171230092525.jpg

IMG20171230093817.jpg

If our destination was too far from a train, we hail a taxi or tuktuk. But I tell you, tuktuks are very expensive, even more expensive than cabs. And it’s a roller coaster ride! hahaha

IMG201712281838461.jpg

A stay in the city is never complete without sitting at a sidewalk table and digging in to their cheap and tasty foods. Read my post: Bangkok’s Street Feast

I absolutely loved our Bangkok trip- everything was truly amazing. We took part in lots of walking tours throughout the day. But it was all worth it seeing the different places we visited. We went to many cool places, had lots of new experiences, ate lots of new foods and took part in endless sightseeing and shopping? hahahha (see next posts)

IMG20171228123008-01

I’ve seen many different people from all over the world. I guess, Thailand is one of the best tourist destination. So to speak. This was something I had never done before (first time ko nga di ba), but when it began to happen, I was amazed. We may all come from different countries, but it is incredible how similar we are as humans.

Next blog posts will be about our Thailand destinations and experiences. Look forward to that. 🙂

By the way, as a video editing enthusiast (vlogger-vloggeran for short), I made a video of our time in Thailand. Check this out: BKK TRAVEL VLOG

P.S. we arrived back to Philippines 4 hours before New Year!! How was that?! Saving the best for last ika nga. 🙂

Leave a comment