New Year, New Bedroom


Making your space truly requires some changes. So, i gave my room a whole new look!

So i started by buying necessary stuffs for decor. I even sell my 2 year old bed and mattress to buy new ones that will fit my room design. While waiting for it to be sold, i took off the old wallpapers and eliminated some stuffs (a lot of stuffs actually haha) that will not go with the color scheme i was planning.

My goal for my room was to create a cozy, serene, and relaxing space to hang out in (since i spent almost all the time in my room when i’m off duty).

Here’s a wall decor and a laundry basket. Don’t I just love cats? =)

One of the biggest components I used to create this feel in my room was the color scheme. Everyone will have a slightly different idea of what “calm” and “soothing” feel like to them, but I decided on a minimalist bedroom aesthetic: ‘Go Bright & All-White’ using hues of gray, black, and pastel pink.

Newly bought curtain, bed sheet, & hotdog case. Pink pillow was a Christmas gift from one of my barkadas

White as a main color scheme that will help to create the feeling of spaciousness. Black to look classy and cozy. Comforting grays that will keep my bedroom feeling simple in appeal. And pastel pink as my new fave color.

The books/novels I have when I was still in college & post grad. Cute display letter light and iron vase I bought early December. And Victoria Secret perfume as birthday gift from my sister & Jimin lamp given by Aging.

More doesn’t always mean better, especially when creating a minimalist bedroom. That is why i chose calming colors and simple accessories that fits the small bedroom space (perfect for single individuals like me haha).

My work place!!

Since my goal was, “New Year, New Bedroom”… almost of the things were newly bought like: wood bed, flex mattress, bedsheet, wallpaper, curtain, floor mat, light bulbs, storage organizers, small room decors, and new study table cover. Some cute accessories were given as Christmas gifts from friends. Yeah, this room makeover has cost me a lot.. but I don’t mind! As long as I am satisfied with the result. Keke

I supposed to sell this easel but it gives off my artistic side, so ^_^ Borrowed my mom’s plant & pot for aesthetic purposes haha

So i made the final touches a day before new year because the last minute decor & organizer i ordered arrived on 31st. My bedroom is finally complete on the eve of New Year! Admittedly, I finished about 98%. There is still that door to decorate and my selected artworks to display (need to buy new frames for that) 😉.

I know my room is small and simple compared to others but I’m pretty sure I made my bedroom goal happened, so I’m calling it a win! Whatever design we prefer, all we wanted is to feel calm and soothing right? It is a place to rest and relax, after all!

Fun facts:

  1. Major makeover was done between busy schedule during Christmas party events.
  2. I did the makeover all by myself.
  3. I carried alone the double size heavy wood bed from our terrace to my room lah. My adrenaline brought out the best of me! hahaha
  4. It’s not a fangirl (bts dedicated room) nor an artist room but there are details that tells you I’m a Jimin fan and an artist too. kekekek

Do watch my video clip to see how my room looks at night =) https://youtu.be/xfHv1hQeBOM

UPDATE: One month later, I changed my room color from gray & white to beige neutral color palette. Obviously, I bought another set of room essentials waaa

Leave a comment