How I Became a Hobbyist Artist


So this post was originally made way back 2015. This is what i emailed to a writer when i was chosen to be featured in a local newspaper. Yes, I was once in a front and center page of a newspaper 🙂)

However this post is not about why I was featured but my story on how I became active to the art field. Since the email sent was only an overview of my “artist life story”, I edited and added more details for this blog post.

My Story

It took a while for me to express it. It took a lot of perseverance and confidence to come out with something which I long for when I was younger. Just like any other artists, I realized I have the talent in drawing in my primary school. My cartoon, anime drawings and art projects were cool (my classmates & teachers would say). I was part of Campus Journalism as a cartoonist and eventually awarded, “Cartoonist of the Year” in school when I graduated elementary.

Unfortunately, my works were never praised by my parents and discouraged me in doing so. For them, I better focus my leisure time in studies, house chores and the like. I had the hard time expressing my artistic side then. My hobby became an obligatory for art projects and commissions. So I grew up curious about drawing and art.

Cliché as it may sound, maybe everything happened for a reason. I focused on my studies instead. I’d been a diligent student straight from intermediate to college. Fast-forward: I graduated in college with Latin honor, passed the Licensure Examination for Teachers months later, and the year after, I got employed in DepEd as a public school teacher. I was in the peak of my career when I felt I was missing out on something. I think it had been the emptiness that I needed an outlet to express myself.

my first trial of portrait using graphite pencils

It was year 2013 that I started sketching faces. Eventually I was inspired by the beauty and uniqueness of Sandara Park (my bias) and she became my muse. I posted my first imperfect portrait of her on Facebook.

my first Sandara Park portrait

My colleague, Sir Ariel, saw my post. He then advised me on how to be better and shared beginner guides on portraiture. My door unlocked for something which I didn’t know I wanted. (Read how sir Ariel inspired me: Unexpected Sensie)

So I watched art tutorials on Youtube and practiced drawing on weekends. Since I love sketching faces, I focused on portraits. Sadly, my outputs were not close enough to my references. It’s good but I want it best.

my portrait artworks before I joined Guhit Pinas – Davao

That’s when a Facebook friend led me to my stepping stone. It started when this guy, Jie Embodo (whom later i knew is a local artist who do murals, paintings and now a successful tattoo artist in Tagum), messaged me to join an art painting exhibit.

It was a pleasure to be invited but I declined the offer. First, I wasn’t confident, and second I was a complete beginner. Maybe he saw my college painting project, but that’s it. I had zero knowledge about painting. Knowing my enthusiasm in art and needs for improvement, he advised me to join a Facebook group page.

Guhit Pinas – Davao members during our 1st exhibit

Eventually I joined the group he suggested, Guhit Pinas-Davao. It’s a sub group from the main group GUHIT PINAS. The group was like “tambayan ng mga artist”. I saw different artwork posts from newbie to pro. I felt at home. It’s a haven for visual artists from many of whom were youngsters and only beginning to realize their artistic potentials like me.

my first meet-up and assembly with the group (it’s me on yellow)
Me on the left, members’ artworks on the right

The members and admins were so welcoming. It was year 2014 when I became active to the group. I joined both minor and major events like meet-ups and assemblies. And I found a new circle of talented & unique friends.

Assemblies and Meet-ups
GPD activities

The group helped me realized what medium I’m comfortable and good at. From graphite, I changed my medium to color pencils.

My first two color pencil portraits when I joined GPD

Guhit Pinas-Davao opened me to unexpected opportunities: I participated in art exhibits, I was featured in a newspaper, I contributed to our city mayor’s ASEAN jamboree mural project, and many more.

My 1st exhibit with GPD
Exhibit at E-park Tagum City
LEFT: 2nd exhibit at SM Lanang / RIGHT: 3rd exhibit at Robinsons Place
Selected artists conference w/ Mayor Rellon for Asean Jamboree mural project
my contribution to Asean Jambaree project

I owe to the group and its members the big improvement on my skill. Through their shared artworks, tips and inspirational stories I became an improving artist. Aside from blogging that I’ve been doing for quite some time now, in drawing, there is this high achievement that I couldn’t explain. It’s priceless.

Featured GPD artist, including my self 🙂

It has been 7 years with GPD-Davao. Luckily I became one of the admins. But unfortunately the group is not active as it was before because our organization president passed away in a tragic incident. Rey (or kol Rey as I call him) was a decent man, a friend, and my motivator. I remember those times he would encourage me to join our group activities assuring me everything would be fine as long as he’s there. He was the reason why my artworks made it to the art exhibits. His never ending persuasion to join pushed me to include my portrait artworks to different art exhibits.

I with kol Rey & Kol Jom

Despite this, we’re still in contact with the old members or “mga karaang damang” in GPD-Davao. And now unfortunately I seldom do color pencil portraits. From time to time I can manage to make portraits but with different medium like ballpen and digital art (since for me these are easier than color pencils). I still had lots of unfinished artworks actually. And since I’m a hobbyist, (an artists who spend making art strictly for personal pleasure) I just want to make art that I enjoy whenever I feel like it. :))

Follow me on Instagram to see more of my artworks: CLOUD DISNEY ARTWORKS

2 thoughts on “How I Became a Hobbyist Artist

Leave a comment